Dr. TAMAKI IPPONMATSU, President since 1962 of the Japan Atomic Power Company; from 1965 to 1967 he was President of the Atomic Energy Society of Japan, and he has held, many other appointments. Dr. Ipponmatsu's nuclear interests are especially in management and engineering.

Dr. BRUNO F. STRAUB, a Member of the Hungarian Atomic Energy Commission and Vice-President of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences; Dr. Straub was made Professor of Chemistry at the Medical University of Budapest in 1949. His nuclear interests are in the application of tracers in biochemistry, especially in relation to the biosynthesis of proteins and nucleic acids. Dr. Straub served as Chairman for a number of meetings of the Safeguards Committee (1970), which elaborated the structure and content of agreements to be concluded between the IAEA and States Party to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons.

the spread of international safeguards

The Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons came into force on 5 March 1970 by the ratification of 40 non-nuclear-weapon States and that of three nuclear weapon States — the United Kingdom, the United States and the USSR. Since then it has been signed by 98 States, and now 73 States have ratified it.

For more than a year the Safeguards Committee (1970), a Committee established by the Board and open to all member States of the Agency, discussed the Structure and Content of Agreements to be concluded between the Agency and States Party to the Treaty in order to fulfill their obligations under it. Today, of the 73 States that have ratified the NPT, agreements have already been concluded with 25 States, and negotiations are underway with 31 other States including the five non-nuclear-weapon States Members of the European Community (Euratom). At its June session, the Board of Governors of the IAEA approved the text of a co-operation agreement between the Agency and the Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America (OPANAL), which was established to ensure compliance with the obligations contracted by States Party to the Tlatelolco Treaty. It will be remembered that that Treaty was signed in Tlatelolco in 1967 by 22 Latin American countries. Since then 19 States have ratified it, and the additional protocols have been signed and ratified by two of the nuclear powers – the UK and the USA. As Dr. Eklund, Director General of the IAEA, has remarked, "the Treaty of Tlatelolco could be regarded as the first multilateral treaty in the field of nuclear disarmament which provides for the application of an institutionalized and international control system, and as such it represented a decisive step forward in the recognition and acceptance of international safeguards." Both the NPT and the Tlatelolco Treaty call upon the IAEA to perform one of its main statutory functions: that is, to apply safeguards at the request of the parties to a multilateral arrangement.

LATIN AMERICAN STATES	TLATELOLCO 1967		NPT 1968	
	Signed	Ratified	Signed	Ratified
Argentina	x			
Barbados	х	х	x	
Bolivia	x	x	х	х
Brazil	х	x		
Chile	х			
Colombia	х		х	
Costa Rica	x	x	x	х
Cuba				
Dominican Republic	х	x	x	
Ecuador	х	х	х	x
El Salvador	х	х	х	
Guatemala	x	x	. X	x
Haiti	х	x	х	x
Honduras	x	x	х	
Jamaica	х	x	х	х
Mexico	х	x	х	x
Nicaragua	x	x	x	
Panama	x	x	x	
Peru	X -	x	x	x
Trinidad & Tobago	x	x	x	
Paraguay	x .	x	x	x
Uruguay	· x	x	x	x
Venezuela	x	x	X .	