SEVEN SCIENTISTS ADVISE



IAEA's newly appointed Scientific Advisory Committee meet at UN headquarters New York

The Scientific Advisory Committee of the International Atomic Energy Agency met for the first time at the headquarters of the United Nations on the 14th and 15th of November.

The Committee was appointed the 4th of November by the IAEA Board of Governors which approved the nominations submitted by the Director General. The members of the Committee are:

Homi Jehangir BHABHA

See biographical note under Board of Governors, p. 18

Sir John COCKCROFT

Member of the U.K. Atomic Energy Authority. Sir John was born in 1897 and educated at Manchester and Cambridge University, where he became Professor of Natural Philosophy in 1939. Together with Dr. E.T.S. Walton, Sir John was the first to split the atom by artificial means (1932). They received the Nobel Physics Prize in 1955.

Vasilij S. EMELYANOV

See biographical note under Board of Governors, $\mathfrak{p}.19$

Bertrand GOLDSCHMIDT

See biographical note under Board of Governors, ${\bf p.}\ 18$

Bernhard GROSS

Born and educated at Stuttgart, Fed. Rep. of Germany, where he became Doctor of Engineering. He came to Brazil in1934 and is now a Brazilian citizen. Gross is Head of the Department of Electrical Measurements at the Brazilian National Institute of Technology and is well known for his work in the fields of cosmic rays, dielectrics, rheology and fallout in the atmosphere.

Wilfrid Bennet LEWIS

Vice President for Research and Development of Atomic Energy of Canada Ltd. Lewis was born in 1908 and educated at Cambridge University where he did research work at the Cavendish Laboratory 1930-39. During the war he was engaged in developing radar and from 1946-52 was Director of the Atomic Energy Division of the Canadian National Research Council.

Isidor I. RABI

Chairman, General Advisory Committee, U.S. Atomic Energy Commission. Rabi was born in Austria 1898 and studied at Cornell and Columbia University. He is Professor of Physics at Columbia and received the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1944.

The function of the Committee is to provide the Director General and through him the Board of Governors with scientific and technical advice on questions relating to the Agency's activities. Items for consideration by the Committee can be submitted by the Director General either on his own behalf or on behalf of the Board.

The membership of the IAEA Committee is identical with that of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Secretary General of the United Nations.

The Director General, Mr. Sterling Cole, is Chairman of the Committee, but technical discussions are presided over by the Vice Chairman. At its first meeting the Committee elected Mr. W.B. Lewis (Canada) to this post. Mr. Robert Spence, Chief Chemist of Harwell, represented Sir John Cockcroft who was unable to attend.

Dr. Henry Seligman, Deputy Director General in charge of the Department of Isotopes and Research, is the Committee Secretary.

The Committee recommended two major and three minor scientific meetings for 1959. The major conferences would deal with (i) the application of big radioactive sources in industry and particularly in chemistry, and (ii) the handling and disposal of radioactive wastes. The three minor events were recommended to be: (i) a seminar on medical radioisotope scanning techniques (together with WHO; late February 1959); (ii) radioactive metrology (together with ICRU and ISO; October 1959) and (iii) training of specialists (together with UNESCO).

The Committee asked that the proposal for an estimation of the world-wide distribution of hydrogen and oxygen isotopes in water should be re-submitted to the next session with more detailed indications of its connection with the Agency's other activities.

The plans for the Agency's functional laboratories were approved and the long-term needs for technical facilities were mentioned. Members of the Committee put forward some suggestions concerning further research activities that might usefully be undertaken by the Agency.