

## Information Circular

INFCIRC/377/Add.18

Date: 11 May 2005

**General Distribution** 

Original: English

## African Regional Cooperative Agreement for Research, Development and Training Related to Nuclear Science and Technology

## **Third Extension of Agreement**

- 1. Pursuant to Article XIV.2, the Agreement "shall continue in force for a period of five years from the date of its entry into force and may be extended for further periods of five years if the Government Parties so agree".
- 2. The third extension of the Agreement entered into force on 4 April 2005, upon expiration of the second extension of the Agreement and will remain in force for an additional period of five years, i.e. through 3 April 2010.
- 3. As of 10 May 2005, 20 States have notified the Agency of their acceptance of the extension of the Agreement. The status list of the Agreement is reproduced in this document for the information of all Members. Members will be notified of further acceptances of the extension of the Agreement by addenda to this information circular.

## THIRD EXTENSION OF AFRICAN REGIONAL CO-OPERATIVE AGREEMENT FOR RESEARCH, DEVELOPMENT AND TRAINING RELATED TO NUCLEAR SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

Notes: Pursuant to Article XIV.2 of the original Agreement, the third extension entered into force on 4 April 2005, upon expiration of the second extension, and will remain in force for an additional period of five years, i.e. through 3 April 2010.

Parties: 20

Country/Organization	Signature	Instrument	Date of deposit	Reservation/Withdrawal	Entry into Force
Algeria		Acceptance	22 Mar 2005		4 Apr 2005
Benin		Acceptance	8 Apr 2005		8 Apr 2005
Burkina Faso		Acceptance	30 Mar 2005		4 Apr 2005
Cameroon		Acceptance	9 May 2005		9 May 2005
Central African Republic		Acceptance	22 Mar 2005		4 Apr 2005
Democratic Rep. of the Congo		Acceptance	17 Mar 2005		4 Apr 2005
Egypt		Acceptance	6 Apr 2005		6 Apr 2005
Eritrea		Acceptance	5 Apr 2005		5 Apr 2005
Ethiopia		Acceptance	29 Mar 2005		4 Apr 2005
Ghana		Acceptance	1 Apr 2005		4 Apr 2005
Libyan Arab Jamahiriya		Acceptance	31 Mar 2005		4 Apr 2005
Madagascar		Acceptance	24 Mar 2005		4 Apr 2005
Mauritius		Acceptance	22 April 2005		22 Apr 2005
Namibia		Acceptance	24 Mar 2005		4 Apr 2005
Niger		Acceptance	30 Mar 2005		4 Apr 2005
Nigeria		Acceptance	6 May 2005		6 May 2005
Senegal		Acceptance	29 Mar 2005		4 Apr 2005
Tunisia		Acceptance	4 May 2005		4 May 2005
Uganda		Acceptance	24 Mar 2005		4 Apr 2005
United Republic of Tanzania		Acceptance	5 Apr 2005		5 Apr 2005