

Information Circular

INFCIRC/193/Add.7

Date: 28 May 2004

General Distribution

Original: English

The text of the Agreement between Austria,
Belgium, Denmark, the Federal Republic of
Germany, Finland, Greece, Ireland, Italy,
Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain,
Sweden, the European Atomic Energy Community
and the Agency in Connection with the Treaty on
the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons

Accession of Austria

- 1. Article 23(a) of the Agreement¹ of 5 April 1973 between Belgium, Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany, Finland², Greece³, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal⁴, Spain⁵, Sweden⁶, the European Atomic Energy Community and the Agency in implementation of Article III (1) and (4) of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT)⁷ provides that the Agreement shall come into force for non-nuclear-weapon States Party to NPT which become members of the European Atomic Energy Community upon:
 - (i) Notification to the Agency by the State concerned that its procedures with respect to the coming into force of the Agreement have been completed; and
 - (ii) Notification to the Agency by the European Atomic Energy Community that it is in a position to apply its safeguards in respect of that State for the purposes of the Agreement.
- 2. On 24 June 1996 and 26 July 1996, respectively, the Agency received in respect of the European Atomic Energy Community and Austria, the notifications required by Article 23(a) of the Agreement. For practical accounting purposes as proposed in the notification from the European Atomic Energy Community, the Agreement came into force for Austria on 31 July 1996.

¹ Reproduced in document <u>INFCIRC/193</u>.

² The Agreement came into force for Finland on 1 October 1995. Information concerning the accession of Finland is reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.6.

³ The Agreement came into force for Greece on 17 December 1981. Information concerning the accession of Greece is reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.2.

⁴ The Agreement came into force for Portugal on 1 July 1986. Information concerning the accession of Portugal is reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.3.

⁵ The Agreement came into force for Spain on 5 April 1989. Information concerning the accession of Spain is reproduced in document <u>INFCIRC/193/Add.4.</u>

⁶ The Agreement came into force for Sweden on 1 June 1995. Information concerning the accession of Sweden is reproduced in document <u>INFCIRC/193/Add.5.</u>

⁷ Reproduced in document <u>INFCIRC/140.</u>