

## Information Circular

## INFCIRC/193/Add.16

Date: 23 May 2008

**General Distribution** 

Original: English

Protocol Additional to the Agreement between the Republic of Austria, the Kingdom of Belgium, the Kingdom of Denmark, the Republic of Finland, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Hellenic Republic, Ireland, the Italian Republic, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Portuguese Republic, the Kingdom of Spain, the Kingdom of Sweden, the European Atomic Energy Community and the International Atomic Energy Agency in implementation of Article III, (1) and (4) of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons

## **Accession of Hungary and Malta**

1. Article 17.a. of the Protocol Additional<sup>1</sup> to the Agreement<sup>2</sup> between the Republic of Austria, the Kingdom of Belgium, the Kingdom of Denmark, the Republic of Finland, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Hellenic Republic, Ireland, the Italian Republic, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Portuguese Republic, the Kingdom of Spain, the Kingdom of Sweden, the European Atomic Energy Community and the International Atomic Energy Agency in implementation of Article III, (1) and (4) of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear

<sup>1</sup> Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.8.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193.

Weapons (NPT)<sup>3</sup> provides that the Additional Protocol shall come into force on the date on which the Agency receives from the Community and the Signatory States written notification that their respective requirements for entry into force have been met. Article 23(a) of INFCIRC/193 provides the means for non-signatory States of the Additional Protocol to express their consent to be bound by the Additional Protocol.

- 2. The Additional Protocol which came into force for the above-mentioned original signatories (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, the Community and the Agency) on 30 April 2004, has also entered into force for Estonia<sup>4</sup>, Poland<sup>5</sup>, Slovakia<sup>4</sup> and Slovenia<sup>6</sup>.
- 3. The Agency received from the Republic of Hungary and the Republic of Malta on 12 December 2006 and 7 February 2007, respectively, and from the European Atomic Energy Community on 1 July 2007, notification that their respective requirements had been met. Accordingly, the Additional Protocol came into force for Hungary and Malta on 1 July 2007.

\_\_\_\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Reproduced in document INFCIRC/140.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.10.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.14.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.12.