

## Information Circular

## INFCIRC/193/Add.15

Date: 23 May 2008

**General Distribution** 

Original: English

The Text of the Agreement between Belgium, Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, the European Atomic Energy Community and the Agency in Connection with the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons

## **Accession of Hungary and Malta**

- 1. Article 23(a) of the Agreement<sup>1</sup>, and the Protocol thereto, between Belgium, Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, the European Atomic Energy Community and the Agency in implementation of Article III, (1) and (4) of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT)<sup>2</sup> provides that the Agreement shall come into force for non-nuclear-weapon States Party to NPT which become members of the European Atomic Energy Community upon:
  - (i) Notification to the Agency by the State concerned that its procedures with respect to the coming into force of the Agreement have been completed; and
  - (ii) Notification to the Agency by the European Atomic Energy Community that it is in a position to apply its safeguards in respect of that State for the purposes of the Agreement.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Reproduced in document INFCIRC/140.

- 2. The Agreement and the Protocol thereto, which came into force for the above-mentioned original signatories on 21 February 1977<sup>3</sup>, have also entered into force for Austria<sup>4</sup>, Estonia<sup>5</sup>, Finland<sup>6</sup>, Greece<sup>7</sup>, Poland<sup>8</sup>, Portugal<sup>9</sup>, Spain<sup>10</sup>, Slovakia<sup>5</sup>, Slovenia<sup>11</sup> and Sweden<sup>12</sup>.
- 3. The Agency received from the Republic of Hungary and the Republic of Malta on 12 December 2006 and 7 February 2007, respectively, and from the European Atomic Energy Community on 1 July 2007, the notifications required by Article 23(a) of the Agreement. Accordingly, the Agreement entered into force for Hungary and Malta on 1 July 2007.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> INFCIRC/193/Add.1.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> The Agreement came into force for Austria on 31 July 1996. Information concerning the accession of Austria is reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.7.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> The Agreement came into force for Estonia and Slovakia on 1 December 2005. Information concerning the accession of Estonia and Slovakia is reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.9.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> The Agreement came into force for Finland on 1 October 1995. Information concerning the accession of Finland is reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.6.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>7</sup> The Agreement came into force for Greece on 17 December 1981. Information concerning the accession of Greece is reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.2.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>8</sup> The Agreement came into force for Poland on 1 March 2007. Information concerning the accession of Poland is reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.13.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>9</sup> The Agreement came into force for Portugal on 1 July 1986. Information concerning the accession of Portugal is reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.3.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>10</sup> The Agreement came into force for Spain on 5 April 1989. Information concerning the accession of Spain is reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.4.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>11</sup>The Agreement came into force for Slovenia on 1 September 2006. Information concerning the accession of Slovenia is reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.11.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>12</sup> The Agreement came into force for Sweden on 1 June 1995. Information concerning the accession of Sweden is reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.5.