

Information Circular

INFCIRC/193/Add.10

Date: 23 May 2007

General DistributionEnglish

Protocol Additional to the Agreement between the Republic of Austria, the Kingdom of Belgium, the Kingdom of Denmark, the Republic of Finland, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Hellenic Republic, Ireland, the Italian Republic, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Portuguese Republic, the Kingdom of Spain, the Kingdom of Sweden, the European Atomic Energy Community and the International Atomic Energy Agency in implementation of Article III, (1) and (4) of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons

Accession of Estonia and the Slovak Republic

1. Article 17.a. of the Protocol Additional¹ to the Agreement² between the Republic of Austria, the Kingdom of Belgium, the Kingdom of Denmark, the Republic of Finland, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Hellenic Republic, Ireland, the Italian Republic, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Portuguese Republic, the Kingdom of Spain, the Kingdom of Sweden, the European Atomic Energy Community and the International Atomic Energy Agency in implementation of Article III, (1) and (4) of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear

¹ Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.8.

² Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193.

Weapons (NPT)³ provides that the Additional Protocol shall come into force on the date on which the Agency receives from the Community and the Signatory States written notification that their respective requirements for entry into force have been met. Article 23(a) of INFCIRC/193 provides the means for non-signatory States of the Additional Protocol to express their consent to be bound by the Additional Protocol.

- 2. The Additional Protocol entered into force for the original signatories thereto (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, the Community and the Agency) on 30 April 2004.
- 3. The Agency received from the Slovak Republic and Estonia on 21 April 2005 and 28 July 2005, respectively, and from the European Atomic Energy Community on 1 December 2005, notification that their respective requirements had been met. Accordingly, the Additional Protocol came into force for Estonia and the Slovak Republic on 1 December 2005.

³ Reproduced in document INFCIRC/140.