

INF



International Atomic Energy Agency

*TAEN-*INFCIRC/193/Add.4 May 1989

GENERAL Distr.

Original: ENGLISH

INFORMATION CIRCULAR

THE TEXT OF THE AGREEMENT BETWEEN BELGIUM, DENMARK, THE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY, GREECE, IRELAND, ITALY, LUXEMBOURG, THE NETHERLANDS, PORTUGAL, SPAIN, THE EUROPEAN ATOMIC ENERGY COMMUNITY AND THE AGENCY IN CONNECTION WITH THE TREATY ON THE NON-PROLIFERATION OF NUCLEAR WEAPONS

Accession of Spain

- 1. Article 23(a) of the Agreement[1] of 5 April 1973 between Belgium, Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany, Greece[2], Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal[3], the European Atomic Energy Community and the Agency in implementation of Article III(1) and (4) of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT)[4] provides that the Agreement shall come into force for non-nuclear-weapon States Party to NPT which become members of the European Atomic Energy Community upon:
 - (i) Notification to the Agency by the State concerned that its procedures with respect to the coming into force of the Agreement have been completed; and
 - (ii) Notification to the Agency by the European Atomic Energy Community that it is in a position to apply its safeguerds in respect of that State for the purposes of the Agreement.
- 2. On 5 April 1989 the Agency received in respect of the European Atomic Energy Community and Spain the notifications required by Article 23(a) of the Agreement, which therefore came into force for Spain on that date.

^[1] Reproduced in document INFCIRC/193.

^[2] The agreement came into force for Greece on 17 December 1981.

Information concerning the accession of Greece is reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.2.

^[3] The agreement came into force for Portugal on 1 July 1986.
Information concerning the accession of Portugal is reproduced in document INFCIRC/193/Add.3.

^[4] Reproduced in document INFCIRC/140.