

GC(45)/29 18 September 2001

GENERAL Distr. Original: ENGLISH

## International Atomic Energy Agency GENERAL CONFERENCE

Forty-fifth regular session Item 9 of the Conference agenda (GC(45)/28)

## **ELECTION OF MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS**

## **Memorandum by the President**

1. Rule 83 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference<sup>1</sup> provides that before the Conference at each regular session proceeds to elections to the Board of Governors, the presiding officer shall indicate to it those elective places on the Board which must be filled so as to ensure that after the end of the session the Board will be constituted in accordance with Article VI.A. of the Statute.

2. The President accordingly informs the Conference that at the current session it will be called upon to elect 11 members to the Board<sup>2</sup> as follows:

- (a) Two members from Latin America;
- (b) Two members from Western Europe;
- (c) Two members from Eastern Europe;
- (d) Two members from Africa;
- (e) One member from the Middle East and South Asia;
- (f) One member from the Far East;
- (g) One member from the Far East, the Middle East and South Asia; or South East Asia and the Pacific; (the so-called "floating seat").

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> GC(XXXI)/INF/245/Rev.1.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> To replace Algeria, Austria, Belarus, Bolivia, Cuba, Finland, Indonesia, Republic of Korea, Nigeria,Poland and Syrian Arab Republic (see document GC(43)/RES/DEC/(1999), decision number GC(43)/DEC/9).

GC(45)/29 page 2

3. The attention of delegates is drawn to the 24 Member States listed below, which will serve as members of the Board until the end of the forty-sixth regular session (2002), as a result either of their previous election by the General Conference in  $2000^3$  or their designation by the Board of Governors in June  $2001^4$ .

Argentina	Japan
Australia	Libyan Arab Jamahiriya
Brazil	Mexico
Canada	Pakistan
China	Peru
Egypt	Russian Federation
Finland	South Africa
France	Switzerland
Germany	Thailand
Ghana	Ukraine
India	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Ireland	United States of America

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> GC(44)/RES/DEC/(2000), decision number GC(44)/DEC/10.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> GC(45)/6.