



GC(XXVII)/704 14 October 1983 GENERAL Distr. Original: ENGLISH

Twenty-seventh regular session Agenda item 18 (GC(XXVII)/700)

ELECTION OF MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Memorandum by the President

- 1. Rule 83 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference[1] provides that before the Conference at each regular session proceeds to elections to the Board of Governors, the presiding officer shall indicate to it those elective places on the Board which must be filled so as to ensure that after the end of the session the Board will be constituted in accordance with Article VI.A of the Statute.
- 2. The President accordingly informs the Conference that at the current session it will be called upon to elect 11 Members to the Board[2] as follows:
 - (a) Two Members from Latin America;
 - (b) Two Members from Western Europe;
 - (c) Two Members from Eastern Europe;
 - (d) Two Members from Africa;
 - (e) One Member from the Middle East and South Asia;
 - (f) One Member from the Far East; and
 - (g) One Member from the Middle East and South Asia; South East Asia and the Pacific; or the Far East.
- 3. In accordance with Rule 84 of the Rules of Procedure, the number of elective places in each geographical area or group of areas is specified on the ballot papers which will be distributed to delegates during the elections.

^[1] GC(XIX)/INF/152.

^[2] To replace Algeria, Bangladesh, Colombia, Czechoslovakia, Indonesia, Republic of Korea, Netherlands, Panama, Romania, Spain and Zambia (see document GC(XXV)/RESOLUTIONS(1981), Other Decisions, decision number GC(XXV)/DEC/10.

4. Delegates may find it convenient to have before them the names of the 23 Members that have either been designated by the Board[3] or previously elected by the Conference[4] to serve on the Board after the end of this session:

Argentina Kenya

Australia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya

Belgium Mexico
Brazil Pakistan
Bulgaria Portugal
Canada Thailand

Denmark Union of Soviet Socialist Republics

Egypt United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern

France Ireland

Germany, Federal Republic of United States of America

India Venezuela Japan Zaire

^[3] GC(XXVII)/690.

^[4] GC(XXVI)/RESOLUTIONS(1982), Other Decisions, decision number GC(XXVI)/DEC/8.