

International Atomic Energy Agency GENERAL CONFERENCE

GC(XXV)/657 26 September 1981 GENERAL Distr. Original: ENGLISH

Twenty-fifth regular session

Agenda item 16 (GC(XXV)/652)

ELECTION OF MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Memorandum by the President

1. Rule 83 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference $\frac{1}{}$ provides that before the Conference at each regular session proceeds to elections to the Board of Governors, their presiding officer shall indicate to it those elective places on the Board which must be filled so as to ensure that after the end of the session the Board will be constituted in accordance with Article VI.A of the Statute.

2. The President accordingly informs the Conference that at the current session it will be called upon to elect 11 Members to the Board $\frac{2}{}$ as follows:

- (a) Two Members from Latin America;
- (b) Two Members from Western Europe;
- (c) Two Members from Eastern Europe;
- (d) Two Members from Africa;
- (e) One Member from the Middle East and South Asia;
- (f) One Member from the Far East; and
- (g) One Member from the Middle East and South Asia, South East Asia and the Pacific, or the Far East.

^{1/} GC(XIX)/INF/152.

^{2/} To replace Chile, the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, the German Democratic Republic, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, Niger, Pakistan, the Philippines, Switzerland and Yugoslavia (see document GC(XXIII)/RESOLUTIONS(1979), Other Decisions, decision number GC(XXIII)/DEC/9).

GC(XXV)/657 page 2

3. In accordance with Rule 84 of the Rules of Procedure, the number of elective places in each geographical area or group of areas is specified on the ballot papers which will be distributed to delegates during the elections.

4. Delegates may find it convenient to have before them the names of the 23 Members that have either been designated by the Board $\frac{3}{}$ or previously elected by the Conference $\frac{4}{}$ to serve on the Board after the end of this session:

Argentina	Malaysia
Australia	Nigeria
Brazil	Peru
Canada	Poland
Egypt	Sudan
France	Sweden
Germany, Federal Republic of	Turkey
India	Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
Iraq	United Kingdom of Great Britain
Italy	and Northern Ireland
Japan	United States of America
Lebanon	Uruguay

<u>3</u>/ GC(XXV)/644.

^{4/} GC(XXIV)/RESOLUTIONS(1980), Other Decisions, decision number GC(XXIV)/DEC/8.