



International Atomic Energy Agency

## **GENERAL CONFERENCE**

GC(XX)/574 27 September 1976 GENERAL Distr. Original: ENGLISH

Twentieth regular session Agenda item 12 (GC(XX)/573)

## ELECTION OF MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

## Memorandum by the President

- 1. Rule 83 of the General Conference's Rules of Procedure provides that before the Conference proceeds at each regular session to elections to the Board of Governors, the presiding officer shall indicate to it those elective places on the Board which must be filled so as to ensure that after the end of the session the Board will be constituted in accordance with Article VI.A of the Statute.
- 2. The President accordingly informs the Conference that at the current session it will be called upon to elect 11 Members to the Board 2/as follows:
  - (a) Three Members from Latin America;
  - (b) Two Members from Western Europe;
  - (c) One Member from Eastern Europe;
  - (d) Two Members from Africa;
  - (e) One Member from the Middle East and South Asia;
  - (f) One Member from South East Asia and the Pacific; and
  - (g) One Member from Africa, the Middle East and South Asia, or South East Asia and the Pacific

In accordance with Rule 84 of the Rules of Procedure, the number of elective places in each geographical area or group of areas is specified on the ballot papers which will be distributed to delegates during the elections.

<sup>1/</sup> GC(XIX)/INF/152.

<sup>2/</sup> To replace Brazil, the German Democratic Republic, Iran, Iraq, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zaire and Zambia, whose terms of office will expire at the end of this year's session of the General Conference (see document GC(XVIII)/RESOLUTIONS(1974), Other Decisions, decision number GC(XVIII)/DEC/7).

GC(XX)/574 Page 2

Italy

3. Delegates may find it convenient to have before them the names of the 23 Members that have either been designated by the Board or previously elected by the Conference 4/ to serve on the Board after the end of this session:

Australia
Bangladesh
Brazil
Canada
Chile
Colombia
Denmark
France
Germany, Federal Republic of
India
Indonesia

Japan
Libyan Arab Republic
Netherlands
Philippines
Poland
Senegal
South Africa
Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
United Kingdom of Great Britain
and Northern Ireland
United States of America
Yugoslavia

<sup>3/</sup> GC (XX)/564.

<sup>4/</sup> GC(XIX)/RESOLUTIONS(1975), Other Decisions, decision number GC(XIX)/DEC/7.