DDG's Corner

Mr. Tero Varjoranta assumed the post of Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Safeguards on 1 October 2013. 

Prior to this, he was the Director General of the Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority, STUK, in Finland. 

Between 2010-2012 Mr. Varjoranta served as a Director in the IAEA Department of Nuclear Energy, having previously worked as Division Manager in the International Science and Technology Centre in Moscow.

Mr. Varjoranta has served as President of ESARDA, President of the European Nuclear Regulators Group (ENSREG) and as a member of SAGSI for seven years. He is a physicist by education (MSc and PhL) from Helsinki University.


Related Resources